Peter Simons (PhD Chicago 2012) will join the department this fall as postdoctoral fellow in History of Science/Environmental History of the North. He will be working with Professor Ronald E. Doel. For more on his research, see his profile.

A bumper crop of university teaching awards this year: Undergraduate Teaching Awards for Alex Aviña, Neil Jumonville, and Pam Robbins, and a Graduate Teaching Award for Kristine Harper. Congratulations!

Graduate students Liz Bryant and Kevin Uhler won Fulbrights to Poland for 2012-3. Liz will study the experiences of homosexual men in Auschwitz-Birkenau, and will be affiliated with Jagiellonian University in Krakow. Kevin will teach English. Both are students of Jim Jones. Congratulations also to Kate Layton, a recent BA graduate, for winning a Fulbright for 2012-2013 to Brazil. Kate also received the Anna Mae Ford Memorial Fellowship for an MA in Latin American Studies at UT Austin.

The Walbolt Dissertation Fellowship Committee is proud to announce that Maureen MacLeod is the winner of this semester's competition for her research proposal "A Society in Flux: Female Education and Societal Transition in Early Nineteenth-Century France, 1799-1830." Maureen will receive funding to conduct her dissertation research. She will also receive funding to cover travel expenses.

Thanks to a generous gift from Dan and Sylvia Walbolt, the department is able to provide this level of funding for one graduate student's dissertation research every semester.

Congratulations to Maureen on this excellent achievement.

Congratulations to Suzanne Sinke, who has been awarded a Fulbright Scholarship as the Fulbright-University of Salzburg Visiting Professor.

Dr. Sinke will have a flexible combination of teaching and research activities that entails at least two class sessions per week, and may include advising or supervising advanced students.

Congratulations to Alex Aviña for being awarded a Stephen Risley Family Fellowship in the College of Arts and Sciences to pursue research and writing.

The Risleys set up this endowment to provide teaching release to allow additional time to pursue research and/or writing projects.

History Department have 8 nominees for this year's Faculty Awards.

And the nominees are....

University Distinguished Teacher Award - Congratulations to Maxine Jones, Neil Jumonville and Pam Robbins for being nominated for the University Distinguished Teacher Award. They have been recognized for their excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching.

University Teaching Award - Congratulations to Alex Avina, Peter Garretson and Kristine Harper for being nominated for the University Teaching Award. They have been outstanding in many aspects of teaching which contribute to successful teaching and learning.

Graduate Faculty Mentor Award - Congratulations to Darrin McMahon for being nominated for the Graduate Faculty Mentor Award. Dr.Darrin McMahon has been outstanding in his service to graduate students.

We are delighted to welcome Kurt Piehler, the new director of the Institute on World War II and the Human Experience, to the FSU history department.  Dr. Piehler is a specialist in twentieth century American history, and has published widely.  He received his Ph.D. from Rutgers, where he was founding director (1994-1998) of the Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II.  He comes to us from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Richard Mizelle was one of the editors of Resilience and Opportunity: Lessons from the U.S. Gulf Coast after Katrina and Rita, published by Brookings Institution Press. Hurricanes Katrina and Rita devastated the Gulf Coast in 2005. Commentary and analysis typically focused on what went wrong in the post-disaster emergency response. This forward-looking book, however, presents a more cautiously optimistic view about the region’s ability to bounce back after multiple disasters.