Department of History

Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority



The department is proud to congratulate Jan-Ruth Mills, winner of the Martin-Vegue Dissertation fellowship, and Richard Siegler, winner of the Walbolt Dissertation Fellowship for Spring 2018. Each will receive funding for a semester to support research and/or the writing of their dissertations.  Congratulations also go to Kent Peacock who will receive the Norris J. Kent Graduate Fellowship for the spring semester. This $1,000 grant is to be used to help support progress on a doctoral dissertation.

Congratulations Jan, Richard, and Kent!

William Warren Rogers, source

Professor Emeritus William Warren Rogers passed away on October 7, 2017 at age 88. Professor Rogers taught at FSU from 1961 until his retirement in 1996. He published widely on the 19th Century American South.


Rafe Blaufarb's The Great Demarcation: The French Revolution and the Invention of Modern Property (Oxford University Press, 2016) has been awarded the J Russell Major Prize by the American Historical Association.  The prize is awarded annually for the best work in English on any aspect of French history.  Congratulat